Day 1: The Quote Challenge

Hey guys! I’ve been nominated by autumnchocolatebooks to complete the three-day quote challenge! Feel free to send me challenges. I enjoy completing them. 🙂

The rules are as follows:

  • For three consecutive days, you have to post a quote.
  • Acknowledge the blogger who has nominated you.
  • Each day you have to nominate three different bloggers.
  • Let the bloggers know you have nominated them.

 

Quote #1:

Many people think of perfectionism as striving to be your best, but it is not about self-improvement; it’s about earning approval and acceptance.
-Brene Brown

I chose this quote because I think this is something I’ve always wanted to say but was never able to put in words. Many people see perfectionism as something good, something enviable, but it isn’t so. Perfectionism can send you into a strange world, one that’s both destructive and addictive.

I have not only seen traits of perfectionism in myself, but in many others too, particularly students. I’ve seen students cry over bad grades, and it is scary, to say the least. I’ve even had other students look down on me for receiving bad grades, as if that somehow made me any less knowledgeable. I’ve even seen a Science teacher scold a student for getting a “bad” grade, a grade I, myself, often got (what can I say? I was never meant to be a scientist).

I admit that it is good to try your best, but not while sacrificing your overall well-being. We are imperfect beings. We make mistakes. We learn from them. We move on.

Now I nominate:

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 1: The Quote Challenge

  1. Pingback: Day 3: 3-Day Quote Challenge – U.G.L.Y Forever

Leave a Reply

