To Be Beautiful

Some people just have this special spark about them; a natural ability to attract the attention of everyone around them, reeling them in like moths to a flame. Fae was one of them. She was at least two inches taller than me. Her caramel skin brightened as it came in contact with the sun, and her loose curls bounced on and off her shoulders effortlessly. Her body was perfect; not too big and not too small. She was beautiful.

I was the exact opposite. I was a bit on the chubby side and my hair hadn’t even grown pass my shoulders. My face was decorated by big, red pimples and acne scars from previous ones. I was pretty average looking, to say the least.

I’d always wondered what it was like to be one of those people, to have a perfect face, a perfect body, perfect grades, perfect skin, perfect… everything. The only thing I was ever good at was being average.

Sometimes, I’d watch her, wishing I was like her. She always seemed so free, like she hadn’t a care in the world. I wanted to be like that. I wanted to be perfect, effortlessly. Then one day, I was.

I remember it clearly, the feeling of being in a body that wasn’t mine. I felt lighter. My clothes fitted better. My clothes also looked a lot better, like this red shirt I came across, one that seemed so familiar, yet so unfamiliar at the same time. Then suddenly, I realized why. They weren’t mine. They were Fae’s!

I ran to the mirror, seeing not my own reflection, but Fae’s. I step back in disbelief and let out a bloodcurdling scream. About three seconds later, I could hear someone’s footsteps running towards me. The door flies open.

“What’s wrong Fae?” the man said in a worried manner. It must’ve been Fae’s father. All I know is, I didn’t wait around to find out.

I tried to get ready quickly, but the awkwardness of having to wash someone else’s body made the time go a bit slower. After I was all done, I headed for school first, obviously, because I needed to know what happened, and the only relation Fae and I really had was that. I looked around for something, though I wasn’t sure what it was. Perhaps my own body? The thought alone was too strange for me to continue, and too many people had been calling to me for me to really stay focused.

I heard it all; pet names, whistling, and worst of all, cat calling. I never had a second to myself. People swarmed around me, asking me all sorts of questions that I didn’t know the answer to. I had to get away.

I made my escape in the girl’s bathroom. It was empty; at least I thought it was. Then suddenly, someone comes out of a stall. It…it was me.

My body…” I say in disbelief. “It’s my body!”

“Great. Now that we’ve established that fact, fix this!” she shouted.

“Are you…Fae?” I asked, still trying to understand what is going on.

“Yes, and I want my body back. Now give it!” she commanded me.

“But I don’t know how…” I confessed.

“Sure you do,” she reassured me. “I mean, you’re the reason we got like this in the first place.”

“What do you mean?” I asked, now confused.

“You switched us,” she explained. “You asked  for it. You wanted to be beautiful.”

“Right,” I said, still a bit confused. “Sorry you got the ugly face…”

“Don’t be ridiculous. You just gotta look a little closer,” she smiled as she rested her hand on my shoulder. She then left, though her words still hung in the air. Look a little closer…

Still not knowing how to fix anything, I continued on, as if I were Fae herself. By the end of the day, I was drained and felt bad for embarrassing Fae so much, because even though my face changed, my personality surely didn’t. I was still a dork inside.

A car then stopped by in the afternoon as I sat on a bench. From the car, a woman shouted my name incessantly, so I had no other choice but to go. It was none other than Fae’s mom.

She asked me how my day when out of courtesy, then went on and on about her own.All I could do was think about my own mother and how she was doing. If it were her, she’d probably play the same old song she’d play everyday. I’d even sing along at times. It was always a blast. I missed her.

In a few minutes, we’re there. I was greeted by a quiet house, unlike my own, which was never quiet, thanks to my siblings. I missed them. I didn’t even bother to wash up again because one time was awkward enough for me. I sat at the dinner table, as quiet as a mouse, just as Fae’s parents were. It was strange, to say the least, that the last person I ever wanted to be in that very moment, was Fae. I wanted to be myself.

Later, I slipped into some nightwear and tried to get some shut eye. The next day, I woke up and realized that everything was just one long, weird dream. I looked into the mirror, only to find that I was me again, and I was happy. I even looked closer to see what Fae was talking about, but I still didn’t get it, though I had a feeling that someday, I would.

2 thoughts on “To Be Beautiful

Leave a Reply

