Time To Grow Up

The adult world is one of responsibility. The transition from childhood to adulthood, therefore, can be a pretty tough one since most of us remain solely dependent on parents/ guardians for the journey.

As we grow older, we become more independent. As if that wasn’t stressful enough, we have to figure out how to do things we were never even taught to. I’m actually not against this as I believe it strengthens character (though a heads up would help).

Of course, another sad reality is that apart of growing up is leaving your childish ways behind. No longer is the world centered around you (it never was). No longer will you be treated as if you are special. That’s where self-worth comes in. An important part of growing up is knowing your self-worth, because without it, you’re going to feel lost. All of that freedom can get to your head, but with a goal and a little confidence, you’ll go far.

As my 18th  birthday draws closer, I reflect on how much I’ve grown and have found myself pleased. Still, I have a long way to go and am still in the process of growing up, but I know there’s no rush. Slowly and steadily, I transition into a more mature individual who knows her self-worth. However,  I will never leave the child in me behind because adulthood shouldn’t be the death of innocence. Adulthood should be about growth; about improving and developing what was already there.

2 thoughts on “Time To Grow Up

  1. Hi there! I know that feeling that comes with adulthood… I was there few years ago… Almost 22 now, along with it comes responsibility and expectations.. What has kept me this far is pretty simple! Have faith in God… Believe in yourself so strongly that the world would have no other option but to believe in you….

    Like

Leave a Reply

