Life & Death

Have you ever had that sudden moment of realization? Have you ever wondered why we spend our days worrying about things that won’t even matter when we die? Day after day, we carry on making plans for the future, whether or not we actually live to see it.We continue to do it because it makes us happy; hopeful even, but every now and then, we are reminded of our inescapable fate.

Almost everyone fears death, to some degree. We see it as something final; as the ceasing of our existence. I, personally, am a Christian, so the promise of immortal life in heaven is what pushes me to do better and be better. It is also what has alleviated my fear of death. Now, rather than trying to bury the thought at the back of my mind, I try to embrace it.

In a sense, death is what humbles me. It reminds me that holding onto my possessions is rather pointless as I’ll never be able to carry them to the grave with me. In reality, nothing really belongs to me. I’d be lying if I said I don’t struggle with attachment, but the older I get, the more in control I feel.

Thinking about death also affects the way I deal with emotions. I’ve never fancied arguments and I’ve always been a bit of a ‘cry baby’, but now I realize that not a single bit of it is worth it. Certainly, conflict, anger and sadness are only natural, but now they’ve become more like small bumps on the road, rather than the mountains I had once seen them to be. So, I believe life and death, though opposites, may compliment each other quite well, but only if we let them.

Leave a Reply

