Modern Love

Love exists in several forms. We find love in family, friendships and last but not least, romantic relationships. Oddly enough, I mainly find love in my religion and my family life. My friendships have been rocky to say the least, but I have found a great amount of love in them too. Unfortunately, in romance, I haven’t had much luck.

You see, I have had crushes before and have had people show interest in me as well, yet I have not quite been able to act upon these feelings. It was always the case that I’d someday lose interest due to the fact that I just couldn’t have meaningful conversation with the person. I couldn’t help but feel that these feelings were only superficial. I’d be lying if I said I haven’t come close to finding someone I could truly talk to. Still, it was hardly ever enough since, often times, only I would be willing to open up.

One thing I’ve noticed is that I’m a bit ‘old-fashioned’ when it comes to love. I believe in good conversations. I believe in looking out for one another and constant reassurance (though I may be getting a bit ahead of myself). Last but not least, I believe in a relationship based on love, and not just attraction.

Sadly, I have not seen much of that these days, and this modern version of love just seems a bit superficial to me. Personally, I think this is mainly because several people have begun to settle with people they aren’t even compatible with, whether it be due to attraction, loneliness and peer pressure, I can’t really tell.

Nonetheless, this is just my opinion. I am only going by what I have observed; hence, my accusations may very well be wrong. However, I do believe that romantic relationships should be based on mutual love, first and foremost. Everything else comes after.

2 thoughts on “Modern Love

Leave a Reply

