Why Books Make Great Friends

Most writers would tell you that they’ve been avid readers since a young age, ripe with knowledge and understanding of this complicated world they live in. I, on the other hand, am what you could consider “a late bloomer.”

As a teen, I found it very difficult to concentrate. As such, I wasn’t a big fan of reading, especially since I couldn’t get pass the first page. It wasn’t exactly that I found the material boring (though I didn’t quite like Literature class), but that I just could not follow.

Now that I’m in a more sound state of mind, I find that I am able to concentrate much better; hence, allowing me to experience the world in a new light.

Later, I realized that I wanted to be a writer (ironically) and decided it was time to start reading again. Now I find reading to be a great escape, especially since, at times, reality isn’t so kind. Therefore, it can be a great way to cope until a personal issue is resolved.

It also allows me to travel beyond my means.Since I’ve always had a wild imagination, one that made it difficult for me to concentrate in the first place, I leave it up to my mind to bring the story to life.

Last, but not least, it helps me to understand the world more.I find this to be very powerful as it gives me a sense of peace and allows me to accept the things I cannot change. This is an important aspect of any art form.

……………………………………………………………………………..

Please note: Schedule has been changed to Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays.

Also, I will be sharing a very personal video soon.

2 thoughts on “Why Books Make Great Friends

  1. I was also somewhat of a “late bloomer.” I did enjoy reading as a teen, but it was mostly books I read for school. I wouldn’t actively go out and search for books to read. Now, I read all the time 🙂 Oh, and I also write, too. I’m writing three novels right now that I’m hoping to publish one day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

