Your Plans Are Greater

Jeremiah 29:11 

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Before the start of 2017, I was filled with doubt. I made plans, which has become a habit of mine. It always gave me hope knowing that if I worked towards a plan, chances are, what I want to happen just might. However,  sometimes, it just doesn’t work that way. The year has only just begun, yet already, things aren’t going as I originally planned.  Nonetheless, I keep an open mind when it comes to plans, sparing myself the disappointment. The older I get, the more I realize that life just isn’t always so black and white.

The Bible verse above is one that I’ve been seeing quite often lately. For me, it’s quite comforting and makes me hopeful; more hopeful than any I create can. It reminds me that I don’t always have to be in control; that God has better plans for me. In fact, not knowing what the future holds is rather exciting. Additionally, the more things don’t go according to plan, the more I learn to trust God and accept life’s unpredictability.

As I mature, I begin to realize that this life is only temporary. People come and go. Material things only last so long. The real reason I am here is because God wanted me to be apart of his army, and that thought gives me the strength to keep pressing on. God fills the hole in my heart and shows me that there is more to this life than what I see. Without Him, I would be seeking happiness in people and worldly things, both of which only last so long.

Song suggestion:

 

2 thoughts on “Your Plans Are Greater

Leave a Reply

