Live Fast, Die Young

Drugs, sex, parties. This lifestyle attracts many people. After all, doing whatever you want without a guilty conscience sounds pleasing, but is it really as good as it sounds?

We are all taught right from wrong somehow, either by our guardians and our teachers, or by society itself. Yet, regardless of how well we were brought up, some of us still make the conscious decision to do what is wrong.  It’s the sad reality, and our greatest dilemma as human beings. We get a thrill from doing the wrong things, as we do them to fill a void inside of ourselves. We do them until we no longer have a sense of morality. But the good news is, we can find peace.

Young people are at the greatest risk here, considering this wild nature is deemed normal. As I teenager, I’ve been able to witness up close. Mind you, I do not judge these people, as I am not perfect. But time and time again, I’ve seen some risky behaviour being encouraged among teens, and even discussed casually. There is no sense of guilt; no sense of right or wrong. That is what scares me more than anything.

I too have been encouraged to go against my own beliefs. I believe they call that peer pressure, and while some people simply get a rush from doing these things, others just want to fit in. It is these desires that make us lose ourselves, and at some point or another, the rush dies, and we become unhappy. This is because true happiness cannot be found in this world or things of this world. True happiness can only be found and kept within oneself.

Personally, my happiness comes from God. Slowly, I drift away from my worldly desires and focus more on what’s to come. I still have a long way to go, but I already feel that something has been changing in my life, and it’s a magical feeling. So, while I don’t expect everyone to be like me or to believe in what I believe, I do think that, without a sense of morality, we will always feel lost and empty. It is this sense of morality and purpose that helps to fill the void inside us, so that we may truly be able to shine and prosper.

Besides, there are plenty of other ways to have fun (without doing the wrong thing).

Leave a Reply

