A Life Of Purpose

Earlier this year, I decided it was time to start reading my Bible more.

You see, I’ve considered myself a Christian my whole life simply for the fact that I believe in God. As a child, I only followed what my parents told me to believe in without reason, and that was enough for me.


Now here’s the thing. The older I got, the more miserable I became. People became cold towards me, and I became cold towards them. It got to the point where I began to question the very meaning of life. If you think no one really cares for you or that you are inferior to the rest, life simply becomes one big puzzle.

I was unhappy, and often times, I’d cry out for God’s help. I spoke to God when and only when I needed Him. That was not enough. It wasn’t until I reached my lowest point that I really began to see Him at work. This was when my journey to recovery began, even though at the time, I didn’t know it.

At that point in time, I had a strange spiritual encounter. I couldn’t understand it at the time, but it was enough to keep me going, even when I wanted to stop. I felt something that I hadn’t felt in a long time. I felt loved. Some time later, I decided that enough was enough, and with God’s love, I was able to overcome agoraphobia.

These days, I see a lot of hate directed towards Christians and even God Himself. Some wonder how a loving God could allow such awful things to happen. I don’t feel I can change anyone’s feeling on the matter as I believe religion is a personal thing; something that much be experienced to be understood.

However, I will say that terrible things do happen. For me, Christianity has helped me to come to terms with this, knowing that a better life is ahead. To neglect these beliefs would mean losing my purpose. I would either be forced to accept a scientific explanation of creation or stop trying to understand altogether, both of which would lead me to think that life, in the end, is meaningless.

I would have to convince myself that doing or having something will make me feel satisfied. In fact, it was for that very reason that I became miserable in the first place. Whatever I thought I lacked I wished to have. Whatever I could not do I wished to do. But in the end, I’m only human, and I can only do so much. It is through religion that I learned to accept this.

These are my personal beliefs. As I grow, I learn to share them in a more respectful way. Right now, I only wish to help others, whether or not they share my beliefs. Even so, I always wish to let God’s love be known, hoping that someday, it will touch someone else’s heart just as it has touched my own.

12 thoughts on “A Life Of Purpose

  1. Great post. I was also a Christian because that’s what my parents told me. In High School, I had an encounter with God and I can say that I have a personal relationship with him.

    Like

  2. Nice read! Yeah, this reminds me of when I first heard that the Big Bang could be how God brought the world into existence. At first, I thought blasphemy but then the more time passed as I thought about it a new thought occurred to me. What if God could be bigger than our brains can fanthom and scientists are just seeing a small portion of the universe? My point in saying all of this, we shouldn’t put God in a box when it comes to how He operates. He doesn’t want bad things to happen to us but He has a plan. I still believe God created the world in 7 days but who knows how it came about exactly. Only He knows.

    Like

    • I agree that God is much bigger than our brains could ever fathom. I don’t think biblical reasoning and scientific reasoning always match up. Sometimes, they do. I think we should look to the Bible first when we have questions, however. Thanks for the comment! God bless! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Mystery Blogger Award | Dainelle Writes

  4. Pingback: The Mystery Blogger Award | Dainelle Writes

Leave a Reply

