My Kpop Divorce

As a young teenager, the only kind of music I allowed myself to listen to was rock/metal. I loved these genres for the simple fact that no other could accurately express what it was really like to be an angry teen who didn’t quite fit with the rest. This was quite a stretch from what I listened to previously – mainstream pop.

Years later, being in a much better state of mind, I returned to my old habit of listening to poppy tunes, only this time, those with a different flavour. Not too long ago, I started listening to kpop. Kpop in and of itself wasn’t so foreign to me as I, as a young girl, had listened occasionally listened to some songs from well-known girl groups. As I reconnected with my happier self, I began to explore this pop world a little more, and discovered one particular boy band, one which quickly worked its way into my heart.

The icing on the cake for me was the fact that as charismatic as the members were in front of a camera, behind the scenes, they were just as quirky as I was. But as I continued watching their videos and listening to their songs, I started to feel something wasn’t right.

So as much as felt entertained by these people, our hearts were not in the same place. Their songs, good looks and charisma were enough to give me a kind of high, but at the end of the day, it was about what I wanted in life. I wanted to live a meaningful life, yet all I was filling my head with was distraction. As I allowed myself to get sucked in this superficial kind of world, consequentially, I too became a little superficial myself.

The deal breaker for me was watching a video with very strange imagery and realizing that even though the masses had no idea what it meant, they loved it. Why is this such a bad thing? Because even though one would normally question something so eerie and suggestive of something of a darker nature, all they could see was a pretty face. Even I, though usually weary of these things, would ignore what I couldn’t understand for the sake of being entertained.

Nowadays, I choose to live life a little more authentically; a life without distraction. Listening to music that actually reflects my faith and who I am, I feel a little more sober-minded and at peace. Whilst I do think there are talented people in the kpop industry, I hate to think that I would have to continually feed my mind things that contradicted all the things I stood for to enjoy it, even only for the sake of seeing a pretty face. Surely a person is worth more than that.


Follow for more stories, poems & peculiar thoughts.

@dainellewrites

Leave a Reply

