The Power Of TV

As someone who grew up on horror movies, I have come to the conclusion that, as much as we wish it wasn’t so, not everything on tv is good for our minds. Even as an eighteen year old, I can assure you that if I switched on horror movie right now, I’d be having nightmares tonight.

The fact that watching the television actually has the ability to alter the mind should make this a little less surprising. Still, if we really cared about our brains, this should be at least little alarming to us, yet most of us are willing to watch just about anything as long as it entertains us.

Now I just want you to stop and think about this for a moment. There is so much power behind the concept of television that it’s almost scary to think about it, but what’s even more interesting is the fact that the real power is in our hands.

Now here’s the other thing. The people behind these movies and shows know the power they hold. They know what we like, and sure enough, they’re going to use it to their own gain, regardless of whether what is being shown is really good for our mental health or not. The good thing is, we are the ones who have the choice.

As someone who no longer watches horror movies, I can honestly say it’s a relief that I can actually go to bed at night and not worry about some lady coming to get me. Silly as it may sound, I’ve never been happier.

If you find that the things you’re watching have started to have a negative impact on your mind, it’s a sign that it’s high time you switched the channel. Today, I challenge you to make that change. Trust me. A few minutes of entertainment is not worth your sanity.


xx @dainellewrites

2 thoughts on “The Power Of TV

Leave a Reply

